Legal Aid Society


Notice of 146 Annual Meeting

The annual meeting of members of The Legal Aid Society for the election of directors and such other business that may come returns in-person this year at Fordham University School of Law at 150 W 62nd St on Wednesday, December 14, 2022 from 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM.

The close of business on October 25, 2022 is the date of record for determining members entitled to receive notice of and to vote at said annual meeting, or any adjournment thereof, and only members of record on such date are entitled to notice of and to vote at said meeting.

The report of the Nominating and Governance Committee (Aaron Marcu, Chair; and Members Thomas Cerabino, Richard S. Hans, Alan Levine, Bart Schwartz, and Audra Soloway) is as follows:

Board of Directors

Deborah N. Archer, Barry A. Bohrer, Lara Samet Buchwald, Nancy Chung, Jenna M. Dabbs, Scott A. Edelman, Natasha I. Fapohunda, Matthew Furman, Jeffrey Glen, Mia N. Gonzalez, Mark P. Goodman, Richard F. Hans, Elai Katz, Lynn K. Neuner, Charles C. Platt, Patrick T. Quinn, Sharyl A. Reisman, Alyssa Rower, Daniel Rubens, Bradley I. Ruskin, Paul H. Schoeman, L. Kevin Sheridan Jr., Rachel Sherman, Joseph L. Sorkin, Gary Stein, Richard Strassberg, Charles C. Weinstein.

The proper notice of meeting was given to the membership of The Legal Aid Society by e-mail November 18, 2022. A total of 204 notices were sent to law firms and corporate law departments representing 23,658 members.  A total of 1,977  notices were sent to individuals who were members of records as of the close of business on October 26, 2022.

Notice of the Annual Meeting was published in the Law Journal on November 29th, 30th, December 1st, and December 5th. The Law Journal also published notice of the Annual Meeting online from November 29th – December 5th. It was also posted on the Legal Aid website on October 20, 2022.