法律援助協會

項目、單位和倡議

移民法股

法律援助協會是公認的社區領導者,為低收入紐約人提供全面、高品質的移民援助。我們的移民法部門 (ILU) 在各種相關事務中提供直接法律代理,並參與平權訴訟,為移民社區創造大規模的正面成果。該部門在識別新趨勢和新問題以及快速回應政策變更以維護家庭完整性方面擁有良好的記錄。

支持新來者

法律援助的移民法部門針對來自我們南部邊境的新移民湧入採取了一系列措施 了解您的權利資料 特別旨在幫助我們的新鄰居了解美國的法律體系。我們發展了英語、西班牙語、法語、阿拉伯語、沃洛夫語和俄語的資源。我們還開發了視訊資源來分享有關他們在這個國家的權利和移民流程的資訊。

高效工作

移除防禦
ILU 在國土安全部、移民法庭訴訟以及向移民上訴委員會提出上訴時代表移民。近年來,對非拘留驅逐辯護的需求急劇增長,導致 LAS 更加重視為面臨驅逐風險的客戶進行宣傳。

紐約家庭單元項目
紐約移民家庭團結計畫(NYIFUP) 是美國第一個針對被移民和海關執法局(ICE) 拘留的移民的普遍代表計劃,是法律援助機構、布魯克林辯護者服務機構和布朗克斯辯護者組織之間的合作項目。我們的 NYIFUP 團隊代表在聯邦移民拘留所中面臨被驅逐出境並與紐約家人分離的個人。 

移民青年計畫
我們的移民青少年計畫代表紐約的無人陪伴兒童和青少年獲得特殊移民青少年身分 (SIJS)、庇護、T 和 U 簽證以及其他移民福利。 

家庭暴力與性別暴力
家庭暴力移民計畫代表家庭暴力、人口販運和其他形式性別暴力的倖存者及其家人透過《針對婦女暴力法》(VAWA) 自我請願、受虐配偶豁免、U 和 T 簽證獲得合法身份,庇護和其他移民福利。

平權福利
ILU 的平權福利團隊代表移民向美國公民及移民服務局 (USCIS) 提出各種申請,例如公民身份、綠卡、家庭申請、領事處理、臨時保護身分和兒童入境暫緩遣返 (DACA)。  

聯邦訴訟
ILU 的聯邦訴訟團隊處於聯邦法院移民訴訟的最前沿——從地區法院到美國最高法院。團隊定期提交人身保護令案件,質疑 ICE 任意且經常長期監禁我們的客戶。此外,我們與法律援助的民法改革部門和無償合作夥伴合作,提起集體訴訟和其他影響力訴訟,以禁止政府的一些最有害和最具破壞性的政策,例如任意拒絕向年輕移民提供救濟;限制接受經濟狀況調查福利的個人以家庭為基礎的移民; ICE 在沒有司法令的情況下從紐約州法院綁架非公民。

整體方法

法律援助協會致力於為我們的客戶提供全面的移民服務,無論他們是來自我們的刑事辯護業務、青少年權利業務還是我們民事業務中的其他單位。

  • 在法律援助的刑事辯護業務中,我們擁有一支強大的律師團隊,他們都是刑法和移民法交叉領域的專家。正如所載 帕迪拉訴肯塔基州聯邦案, 559 US 356 (2010),刑事辯護律師有憲法義務向非公民提供有關認罪的移民後果的建議。在法律援助,我們的刑事移民專家為我們所做的刑事辯護工作提供關鍵的移民法律分析。這些律師還為非公民客戶提供定罪後救濟,重點關注那些因大麻定罪和其他低級別逮捕而面臨異常嚴厲和不公正移民後果的人。
  • 我們為寄養系統中的青少年權利實踐 (JRP) 客戶提供移民法律代理,並定期向 JRP 提供有關移民法律選擇的培訓和諮詢。
  • 我們為民事業務同事提供有關移民法律選擇的移民法律代理和諮詢,包括為同時接受住房和福利法律援助援助的客戶提供移民法律代理和諮詢。

我們的影響

ILU 代表紐約人處理各種複雜的移民法律事務。

R 是我們的客戶之一。 R 是多明尼加共和國公民,成為該國合法永久居民已近 40 年。在短暫回國後,R 因 2005 年因非法持有管制物質而被定罪,並被移民官員拘留。由於 R 近 20 年前的定罪,移民法院針對 R 啟動了驅逐程序,他面臨失去合法永久居留權並被驅逐到多明尼加共和國的危險。  

R 對自己的被捕和定罪深感羞愧,並且是他的家人中唯一曾經觸犯過法律的成員。有很多令人信服的因素,讓R可以申請“取消遞解出境”,這樣他就可以保持合法的永久居留權,避免被驅逐出境。 R 在這個國家有重要的家庭關係,包括他自己的美國公民孩子、一位 95 歲的美國公民母親和四名美國公民兄弟姐妹。在去世之前,R 的父親本身就是合法永久居民。此外,R是他95歲母親的照顧者,為她提供日常照顧和支持。  

由於R的取消遞解申請是如此令人信服且有據可查,移民法庭的國土安全部檢察官在不需要任何證詞的情況下批准了R的申請。 R 獲頒取消遣返救濟。 

-

M是我們的另一個客戶。 M 是一名 16 歲的危地馬拉男孩,他逃離了祖國的可怕虐待。在成長過程中,M 酗酒的父親經常以暴力毆打他和他的母親。 10 歲時,M 被迫在危險的條件下工作以養家糊口,其中包括使用刺激性化學物質和砍刀,這給他造成了嚴重的身體傷害。  

逃到美國後,M 在紐約市的一位叔叔那裡避難。叔叔為他提供了一個安全穩定的環境,這是M人生中第一個擁有的環境。 ILU 在家庭法庭上代表 M 幫助他的叔叔獲得對他的合法監護權,並獲得申請特殊移民青少年身份 (SIJS) 所需的命令。 ILU 成功駁回了 M 的移民法庭驅逐程序,並隨後為 M 獲得了 SIJS 和合法永久居留權。  

*所有客戶姓名和某些其他個人識別詳細信息已被更改,以保護客戶的機密性。

其他資源

聯繫

尋求移民事務方面的協助,無論是驅逐辯護還是獲得平權移民福利(公民身份、綠卡、家庭申請等)方面的幫助、擔心公共負擔或為非公民提供提前規劃方面的幫助家長,請撥打我們的移民法部門幫助專線:844-955-3425。如果您被移民和海關執法局 (ICE) 拘留,如果移民法院案件在紐約市進行,或者如果您是紐約市居民,您可能有資格透過紐約移民家庭單位計畫 (NYIFUP) 獲得代理,你的案子在紐澤西州.

求助專線週一至週五上午 9 點至下午 5 點開放,提供所有語言的口譯服務。接受拘留所和監獄的對方付費電話。

Legal Aid Society

Projects, Units & Initiatives

Immigration Law Unit

The Legal Aid Society is a recognized community leader in providing comprehensive, high-quality immigration assistance to low-income New Yorkers. Our Immigration Law Unit (ILU) provides direct legal representation in a variety of relevant matters and engages in affirmative litigation that creates large-scale, positive outcomes for immigrant communities. The Unit has a proven track record of identifying new trends and emerging issues​ and quickly responding to policy changes to preserve family integrity.

Supporting New Arrivals

Legal Aid’s Immigration Law Unit has responded to the influx of new arrivals from our southern border with a series of Know Your Rights materials specifically aimed at helping our new neighbors navigate the U.S. legal system. We have developed resources in English, Spanish, French, Arabic, Wolof and Russian.  We have also developed video resources to share information about their rights and immigration processes in this country.

Our Work

Removal Defense
ILU represents immigrants before the Department of Homeland Security, in Immigration Court proceedings, and on appeals to the Board of Immigration Appeals.  The need for non-detained removal defense has grown dramatically in recent years, leading LAS to increase our focus on advocacy for clients who are at risk of deportation.

New York Family Unit Project
The New York Immigrant Family Unity Project (NYIFUP) is the nation’s first universal representation program for immigrants detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and is a collaboration between Legal Aid, Brooklyn Defender Services, and The Bronx Defenders. Our NYIFUP team represents individuals in federal immigration detention who are at imminent risk of being deported and have been separated from their families here in New York. 

Immigration Youth Project
Our Immigrant Youth Project represents unaccompanied children and youth in New York to obtain Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS), asylum, T and U visas, and other immigration benefits. 

Domestic Violence and Gender Violence
The Domestic Violence Immigration Project represents survivors of domestic violence, human trafficking, and other forms of gender-based violence and their families to obtain legal status through Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) self-petitions, battered spouse waivers, U and T visas, asylum and other immigration benefits.

Affirmative Benefits
ILU’s Affirmative Benefits team represents immigrants before U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) with a wide variety of applications such as citizenship, green cards, family-based petitions, consular processing, Temporary Protected Status, and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).  

Federal Litigation
ILU’s federal litigation team is at the forefront of immigration litigation in federal court—all the way from the district courts to the United States Supreme Court. The team regularly files habeas corpus cases challenging our clients’ arbitrary and often prolonged incarceration by ICE.  In addition, we collaborate with Legal Aid’s Civil Law Reform Unit and pro bono partners to bring class action and other impact litigation to enjoin some of the government’s most pernicious and destructive policies, such as the arbitrary denial of relief to young immigrants; the restriction of family-based immigration by individuals who receive means-tested benefits; and ICE’s abduction of noncitizens from New York state courts, without judicial warrants.

A Holistic Approach

The Legal Aid Society is committed to providing holistic immigration services to our clients, whether they originate in our Criminal Defense Practice, Juvenile Rights Practice, or other units within our Civil Practice.

  • Within Legal Aid’s Criminal Defense Practice, we have a mighty team of attorneys who are experts on the intersection of criminal and immigration laws. As enshrined in Padilla v. Commonwealth of Kentucky, 559 U.S. 356 (2010), criminal defense attorneys have the constitutional duty to advise non-citizens of the immigration consequences of a guilty plea. At Legal Aid, our criminal-immigration specialists provide the critical immigration legal analysis for the criminal defense work we do. These attorneys also provide post-conviction relief for non-citizen clients, with a focus on those who face disproportionately harsh and unjust immigration consequences due to marijuana convictions and other low-level arrests.
  • We provide immigration legal representation for Juvenile Rights Practice (JRP) clients who are in the foster care system and regularly train and consult with JRP about immigration legal options.
  • We provide immigration legal representation and consultation to our Civil Practice colleagues about immigration legal options, including for clients who are also receiving Legal Aid assistance with their housing and benefits.

Our Impact

ILU represents New Yorkers with a wide variety of complex immigration legal matters.

R is one of our clients.  A citizen of the Dominican Republic, R has been a lawful permanent resident in this country for almost 40 years. After a brief trip to his home country, R was detained by immigration officials due to a 2005 conviction for criminal possession of a controlled substance.  Immigration Court removal proceedings were initiated against R because of this almost 20 year old conviction and he was facing loss of his lawful permanent residency and deportation to the Dominican Republic.  

R was deeply ashamed of his arrest and conviction and was the only member of his family that had ever been in trouble with the law. There were many compelling factors that allowed R to apply for “cancellation of removal,” so that he could maintain his lawful permanent residency and avoid deportation.  R had significant family ties in this country, including his own United States citizen children, a 95 year old United States citizen mother, and four United States citizen siblings. Before he had passed away, R’s father had been a lawful permanent resident himself. Further, R was the caretaker for his 95 year old mother, and he provided her daily care and support.  

As R’s cancellation of removal application was so compelling and well-documented, the Department of Homeland Security prosecutor in Immigration Court stipulated to R’s application without any testimony needed. R was granted cancellation of removal relief. 

M is another client of ours.  M is a 16 year old Guatemalan boy who fled horrific abuse in his home country.  Growing up, M’s alcoholic father violently beat him and his mother on a regular basis. At 10 years old, M was forced to work in dangerous conditions to support his family, including working with harsh chemicals and machetes, which caused him significant physical injuries.  

After fleeing to the United States, M found refuge with an uncle in New York City.  His uncle provided him a safe and stable environment, the first M had ever had in his life.  ILU represented M in Family Court to help his uncle obtain legal guardianship over him and to obtain the requisite orders to apply for Special Immigrant Juvenile Status (SIJS). ILU was able to secure the dismissal of M’s Immigration Court removal proceedings and, later, obtain SIJS and lawful permanent residency for M.  

*All client names and certain other personally identifying details have been altered to protect clients’ confidentiality.

Additional Resources

Contact

For help with an immigration matter, whether for removal defense or for help with an affirmative immigration benefit (citizenship, green cards, family-based petitions, etc.), with concerns about public charge, or for help with advance planning for non-citizen parents, please call our Immigration Law Unit Helpline: 844-955-3425.  If you are detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) you may be eligible for representation through the New York Immigrant Family Unit Project (NYIFUP) if the Immigration Court case is in New York City or, if you are a New York City resident, and your case is in New Jersey.

The helpline operates Monday – Friday from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Interpreters are available for all languages. Collect calls from detention facilities and prisons are accepted.